School History

For many years St. Peter's congregation was very conscious of its responsibility for Christian eduction, and had already organised a Saturday School to overcome the limitations of a Sunday school. Progressively, this forward looking congregation realised the limitation of the Saturday school, so the next step a Christian day school.

Ownership and ultimate responsibility for St. Peter's Lutheran School rests with St. Peter's congregation, which regularly appoints a School Council to discharge the responsibility of overall care of the school. Day to day internal running of the school is undertaken by the appointed Principal. St. Peter's Congregation has generously supported the school financially since its inception in 1958.

St. Peter's Lutheran School was opened in 1958. A year earlier the St. Peters Lutheran Congregation had set to establish a Christian day school on a Mallee block just east of the Church yard. Initially classes were held in the hall until a portable two-classroom school was built and delivered by Stawell Timber Industries of Lake Road Stawell.

Original School Building, 1958

We celebrated our 60th anniversary in late 2018 with an open day at the school followed by a dinner at the Dimboola Memorial Secondary College Hall. These events were attended by many past students and we were lucky to have our first principal, Mr Bruno Matuschka, in attendance. Bruno was principal from 1958 to 1961.

Mr Bruno Matuschka speaking at the 60th Anniversary Dinner in November 2018

Four Principals: Mr Stephen Rudolph, Mr Bruno Matuschka, Mrs Lois Kube, Mr Tim Reimann
Photo taken at the 60th Anniversary Dinner, November 2018

Click here to see photos of SPLS over the decades, as shown at our 60th anniversary dinner.


Year Principal
1958 to 1961 Bruno Matushka
1963 to 1967 Naomi Hoff
1968 to 1972 Alan Wiebusch
1974 to 1977 Peter Etschied
1978 to 1981 Stephen Rudolph
1982 to 1987 Stuart Ahearn
1988 to 1992 Jeff Curnow
1993 to 1997 Steve Pugh
1998 to 2000 Eunice Freiburg
2001 to 2009 Leon Kroehn
2010 to 2014 Lyn Huppatz
2015 Verona Wauchope
2015 Lois Kube
2016 to current    Tim Reimann


Year Pastor
1958 to 1959 Pastor Alf Miller
1960 to 1975 Pastor Lionel Janetski
1975 to 1985 Pastor Ray Schmidt
1986 to 1992 Pastor Tim Zanker
1993 to 2003 Pastor Clarrie Schefe
2004 to 2009 Pastor Martin Scharnke
2009 to 2010 Pastor Paul Kerber
2010 to 2015 Pastor Damien Martin
2018 to current    Pastor Levi Graham


post 6-26 Horsham Road | Dimboola | Victoria, 3414
phone 03 5389 1626

© Copyright
St Peter's Lutheran School

Website by Wangara Consulting